Me & Hubby

Left-hand photo by LPhotography
Lee & I met in December of 2000 when we both worked at Tim Horton’s.  We started dating in March of ’03, got engaged in March of ’04 (one year to the minute later of when he asked me out) and were married on April 16, 2005.
Photos by Lindsey Plett

2003 – 2007 was a very difficult period of time for me as I was on antidepressants that caused me a lot of depression, anxiety, and physical side effects.  During 2007, I went off of the 2 antidepressants I was on.  Going through drug withdrawal was the most difficult thing in life I have gone through.  Lee was there to support me every step of the way.  Once I was off, though, life improved a lot.  I am now so glad to be free of psychiatric drugs!  Pretty much the only side effects I have from those years of psychiatric drugs is residual anxiety, and a burning desire to educate others about the dangers of psychiatric drugs and help free them.  While on the topic of health, I also have epilepsy, which started in 2000 and I will have for life.

Directly after our honeymoon, we worked at a fishing lodge.  After those difficult 4 months, I didn’t have a job again for almost 8 years, other than being a housewife.  In the summer of 2013, I started working from home as an independent rep for a catalogue company, which I did until the end of 2015.  Throughout our marriage Lee has held a variety of jobs, including boat assembly, semi truck driver, flight instructor, and dispatcher.  He is currently working as a gravel truck driver as he waits to get hired as a pilot.

Both of us love cats, although we currently don’t have any.  The cat that was our "baby”, and we still love, was Smacky.  He lived with us from March 2006 – August 31, 2012.  We had another indoor cat as well, Chilla, but we were never as close to him.  He lived with us from July 19, 2008 – Summer ‘10.  We have also had many, many outdoor cats and kittens from the end of ’05 to the end of 2012.  The outdoor cat I was closest to during this time was my sweetheart, Buddy, who lived with us almost that entire time.
Left:  Smacky; Top:  Buddy & me; Bottom:  Us with Smacky & Chilla

My hobbies include scrapbooking and making cards, gardening, identifying wildflowers, and reading.  I also spend my time doing normal housewife stuff and spending time online.  I love eating chocolate and I enjoy cooking.  Although a messy person, I love organization.  I enjoy being outdoors and spending time with Lee and our families.  Lee’s passion in life is aviation; he loves flying.  He also enjoys birding, flowers, reading, and fish-keeping.

Our first home was a very tiny, old house on 5 big beautiful acres where we lived for about 7 1/2 years.  Our yard & property were gorgeous, our house was…cute.  We subdivided our property and sold both halves and bought a condo in town.  We moved into it, our second home, in the beginning of February 2013.  Although not large, it had enough room for future Baby.  We did a lot of renos inside our condo and loved the way it looked.  In August of 2015 we moved into a bungalow with a nice yard in town.  We're renovating the house and plan on staying here for many years.  We're actually not minding living in town, but both of us will always remain "country-people".

I became a Christian in my mid-twenties; you can read more about that here.  Lee became a Christian in his early to mid-twenties as well.  My faith is very important to me and I desire to be used by God as He reaches my loved ones and strangers alike with the one true gospel of His Son, Jesus' birth, death, and resurrection.

We were approved to adopt on May 14, 2013.  You can follow our adoption journey here.  It is also the main topic of what I write about on this blog.  I love talking about anything adoption-related and I am very eagerly awaiting "The Call".    

Random Favourites:

Actor:  Gene Kelly 
Animal: cats
Author:  Sarah Sundin   
Colour:  blues
Flower:  white osteopermums
Hobby:  scrapbooking
Month:  June
Movie Genre:  classic musicals 
TV Show:  MasterChef 
Thing to Eat:  avocados 


Bird:  Gyrfalcon
Candy: Fuzzy Peaches or anything cherry or watermelon flavour
Car:  Ferraris or Koenigsegg Agera
Childhood Memory:  going on trips with my dad
Chocolate Bar:  Coffee Crisp or Aero
Colour:  anything rich or deep
Holiday:  whichever one’s the longest and least busiest
Ice Cream:  vanilla and Cookie Dough Blizzards
Job:  flying
Mammal:  Red Panda
Music:  strings; instrumental
Plane:  Seawind and/or Spitfire Mk XIV
Restaurant:  Boston Pizza
Thing to Eat:  pasta
Vacation Place:  the mountains; Oshkosh; the Arctic

 *Please Note:  This blog is in no way intended to be an advertisement in our pursuit of adoption.*